Sunday, February 28, 2016

Weekly Menu, 27 February - 4 March 2016

Saturday 27 February: Dumplings and More
Sunday 28 February: Chicken and sausage jambalaya with cornbread
Monday 29 February: Tan tan noodle
Tuesday 1 March: Xi'An Famous
Wednesday 2 MarchJapanese curry
Thursday 3 March: Tteokbokki
Friday 4 March: The Waiters Restaurant

Friday, February 26, 2016

From the kitchen, 25 December 2015: Christmas Day

Smoked salmon and salad

Roast turkey

Vegan turkey with roast vegetables, and vegan wellington

Turkey, stuffing, vegetables vegan turkey

Vegan wellington (recipe from Serious Eats)

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Izakaya Yamato - Melbourne, Victoria

Kaki fry (oysters) breadcrumbed skewer 3.30 each

Torikawa (chicken skin) grilled skewer 2.30 each

Nankotsu (soft bone) grilled skewer 2.30 each

Hotate (scallop) grilled skewer 3.30 each

Hotate (scallop) breadcrumbed skewer 3.30 each

Takoyaki (octopus dumpling) 5.30

Ika (squid) grilled skewer 3.30 each

Kisu (silver whiting) breadcrumbed skewer 2.00 each

Tebasaki (chicken wing) 3.30 each

Would we go back? We had a fun time at Izakaya Yamato and were pleasantly surprised at the range of Japanese delicacies they had on offer. We were having an early dinner, but could well imagine what the atmosphere would have been like at a later time - filled with happy customers drinking beer with friends and enjoying tasty kushiyaki and kushiage! Exactly what we plan on next time we revisit.
Time and date of visit: 5 pm Saturday 1 August 2015

Izakaya Yamato

Shop 2, 377 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (03) 9602 2991
Open Monday to Friday 11 am - 2.30 pm and 5 pm - 11 pm, Saturday to Sunday 5 pm - 1 am

Izakaya Yamato Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Monday, February 22, 2016

Weekly Menu, 20 February - 26 February 2016

Saturday 20 February: Salmon and soba noodle
Sunday 21 February: Congee with roast duck
Monday 22 February: Braised chicken with chestnuts
Tuesday 23 February: Mushroom risotto
Wednesday 24 FebruaryRamen Bankara
Thursday 25 February: Leftovers
Friday 26 February: Taxi Kitchen

Monday, February 15, 2016

Bartronica - Melbourne, Victoria

Wall Street Espresso - 666 Butter Vodka, Kahlua, Hazelnut & House Made Cinnamon Syrup $18

Verdict? Thematic decor, friendly service, and a good range of games - We enjoyed a generous serve of fun times with a dash of nostalgia and a hint of cheek. Playing retro games while sipping cocktails was a lovely way to spend the afternoon!  
Time and date of visit: 4 pm Saturday 1 August 2015 


Basement, 335 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (03) 8657 8585
Open Tuesday to Sunday, 3 pm - 1 am

Bartronica Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Sunday, February 14, 2016

Weekly Menu, 13 February - 29 February 2016

Saturday 13 February: Hong Kong BBQ
Sunday 14 February: Tamale pie
Monday 15 February: Bunker crack slurp
Tuesday 16 February: Deli spread
Wednesday 17 FebruaryFried rice Bibimbap
Thursday 18 February: Beef stew with smokey eggplant
Friday 19 February: Okonomiyaki

Sunday, February 7, 2016

Weekly Menu, 6 February - 12 February 2016

Saturday 6 February: Sukiyaki
Sunday 7 February: Mince chicken and eggplant on rice
Monday 8 February: Before dawn rice
Tuesday 9 February: Lap cheong omelette
Wednesday 10 FebruaryHakata Gensuke
Thursday 11 February: Egg noodle with meat sauce
Friday 12 February: Up in Smoke

Friday, February 5, 2016

Dosanko Larmen - Melbourne, Victoria

Shio Ramen Deluxe - Mild salt flavoured broth with butter, bamboo shoot, boiled eggs, spring onion, corn, pork belly slices 15.90

Miso Ramen Deluxe - Red miso flavoured broth with minced pork, boiled eggs, spring onion, corn, pork belly slices and noodle 16.90

Verdict? Set on the quieter end of Chinatown, the restaurant layout and decor reminded me of some of the simple, no-nonsense restaurants in Japan. But while the service was good, the ramen failed to impress - it was OK, but definitely not anything special. I found the broth a little weak, lacking any true depth of flavour, and the egg only just managed to scrape in on the right side of gooeyness. So unfortunately, I don't think we'll be revisiting anytime soon.
Time and date of visit: 5.30 pm Tuesday 28 July 2015 

Dosanko Larmen

87 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (03) 9650 6660
Open 7 days for lunch 11:30 am - 2.30 pm and for dinner 5:30 pm - 10 pm

Dosanko Larmen Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Monday, February 1, 2016

Boilermaker House - Melbourne, Victoria

Sage Advice - Peach, Ginger, Sage. This complex cocktail is all bout the stonefruits & winter spice 19

Verdict? Beautiful space, delicious beer and cocktails, attentive staff - I foresee many pre-dinner drinks and late night tipples here in our future.
Time and date of visit: 4.30 pm Tuesday 28 July 2015 

Boilermaker House

211 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 0424 270 082
Open Monday to Wednesday, 4 pm - 3 am and Thursday to Sunday, 12 noon - 3 am

Boilermaker House Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato